My thoughts on reviews, and jumpers.

As the publication day for She Who Dares gets closer, reviews are starting to pop up on the internet.

Reviews generally make me feel a bit like this.

images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have the hair and everything. Trust me, the likeness is uncanny.

 

So far, I haven’t read any of the reviews of either of my books. I know that there’s a current trend for plastering your reviews all over twitter and facebook, but it doesn’t work for me. Partly because I’m a coward (see above), and also because once the book is out, you can do the square root of zip to change it. If a reviewer doesn’t like it, there’s nothing you can do. You can’t rewrite that bit in chapter 7 that they really hated. It’s done. Gone. Over.

I also think that reviews are for readers, not authors. There have been incidences in the past few months where authors have not been very kind to reviewers who didn’t like their books. I think that reviewers should be able to review honestly, without fear of repercussions, because a review that is written so as not to offend the author isn’t a genuine review. Plus I rarely buy a book based on a written review. It’s hard to take Amazon reviews seriously when you can get your mum and dad and workmates and dog to write them for you.

That said, if you have read one of my books and reviewed it online, thank you very much for putting your thoughts out there for readers. Much appreciated.

Which brings me neatly on to jumpers. I’m knitting this one. It’s pink and stripy, and it’s Cool from Kim Hargreaves’ Spirit. No review required.

GetAttachment.aspx

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on reviews, and jumpers.

Leave a Reply

