Author Sarah Belle with her five favourite things

Very happy to welcome author Sarah Belle to my blog today, telling us about her five favourite things…

1.       My kids, Ethan, Rylan, Lachlan and Callum. Even though they have caused a severe drop in my IQ, a sharp rise in my insanity level, as well as the development of several nervous ticks and twitches, I couldn’t imagine my life without them. Although, I do often day dream about the simplicity and freedom of my life before them! (I should include my hubby here too – he’s pretty wonderful).

2.       Bikram Yoga – I need to do this at least 4 times a week.  It’s ninety minutes in a room heated to 40 degrees (104 F),  and then humidified.  It’s absolute torture at times, but I emerge feeling like I’ve had a hot stone massage and luxurious facial. My desire for sugary foods is gone. I eat better, think better, sleep like a log and yell at my kids a whole lot less.

3.       My lip balm. I haven’t been without lip balm since I was twelve years old. Dry lips freak me out! Even lips moving towards a level of dryness freak me out.

4.      Reading books – I couldn’t imagine not being able to escape into someone else’s world each day. It’s heavenly. Choosing a favourite is as hard as choosing a favourite son, but I would have to say that the one novella I have returned to countless times over the last thirty years is  Carmilla  by J. Sheridan Le Fanu. It was published in 1872 and is hauntingly beautiful – each time I read it feels just as good as the first.

Writing – either for my blog or a novel. I only discovered writing three years ago and now kick myself for not having got into it sooner. All those years I didn’t write!

Four boys! I’m amazed Sarah manages to get out of bed in a morning, never mind find time to write. I’m leaving now, as this is making me look highly inadequate, and I’ll leave you with the cover for Sarah’s book Hindsight, in which a woman wakes up to find she’s a 1960’s housewife.

Image

Humour, wit, and just a touch of humility: the swinging 60s as you’ve never seen them before!

The universe has sent Juliette a sign. She wishes it had been an email instead…

Juliette’s career is on fire, her marriage and family are in melt-down, and a red-hot goddess wants her husband. But those are the least of her worries when she wakes up on her lounge room floor in the year 1961.

Without any of her modern conveniences — nanny, housekeeper, surgically attached mobile phone, designer wardrobe, and intravenous lattes — Juliette is just over fifty years out of her comfort zone. But as she takes on the role of a 1961 housewife, with gritted liberated teeth, she discovers an unexpected truth: slower doesn’t mean boring, at home doesn’t mean dull, and priorities don’t mean sacrifices.

As she finds unexpected friendships, a resuscitated love life, tragedy and triumph, Juliette begins to wonder if she really wants to return home after all.

Facebook   https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sarah-Belle-Author/181235018692696?ref=hl

Twitter link   https://twitter.com/SarahBelle44

Website : www.lovesarahbelle.com

Blog:  www.sarahbelle.me

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/Sarah-Belle44

Buy Link (publisher):  http://www.escapepublishing.com.au/product/9780857990587

Leave a Reply

