Ainslie Paton and her five favourite things

Today on my blog I have Ainslie Paton, sharing her five favourite things. Her cat pictures on facebook give me cat envy on a regular basis. Take it away Ainslie!

Two of my favourite things are furry.   One is topless.  Two are obvious, and then there is the book.

The furry

This is Bandit and Glama.  They’re Maine Coons.  Brother and sister.   They’re four years old.   They supervise my work.  Not sure any would ever get done without their oversight.

 I nearly lost Bandit this year, a mystery twist in his intestine and then a struggle to recover which had me playing nurse with wet towels and hand feeding.

He’s almost fully recovered now and back to protecting me from all manner of distraction – like big hairy Huntsman spiders.

cats

The topless

Oh I know what you thought – you thought this would be rude somehow.

I have one of these and it’s one of my favourite things for the sheer wind in the hair fun.  I always drove bombs.  You know the kind of car where you had to do a hand signal for the blinker, while holding the door closed on a right turn.

I figured I should have one really nice car before I die.

She’s fast, a looker, and makes even the most dire run to the shops for milk a worthwhile excursion.

car

The obvious

Coffee and chocolate—almost too obvious to mention and too synonymous to separate.  They are the favourite get me up, going and making sense substances.  I abuse them religiously.

The book

So hard to pick a favourite.  But I’m going to go with Favel Parrett’s Past the Shallows.  This is a gorgeously written Australian book about broken families and tender young hearts.  It’s the story young boys left to survive with an angry father and world they struggle to comprehend.  It’s a make you think book, a make you cry book.  A quiet little masterpiece of fear, humour and smack you in the guts emotion.

book

So now I have cat and car envy. Humph. If you want more cat pictures, you can find Ainslie on twitter as @ainsliepaton. If you want her latest book, you can find it here:

http://www.escapepublishing.com.au/product/9780857990778

 A romance about manipulation, truth and facing the past.

Truth can make you and break you. But can it glue you back together again?

Detained in a cold, dull room in the depths of Shanghai airport, a journalist chasing a career break and a businessman with a shadowy past, play a game of truth or dare—deliberately not exchanging names.

They tell each other painful secrets and hot desires. One dare leads to a kiss and a wild weekend of illicit passion, setting off a dangerous sequence of events and bringing exposure, and disgrace.

Only the brutal truth can save them. But it will also rip them apart. And it will take more than daring before they have a chance to build a new truth together.

18881

Leave a Reply

