Ros Baxter and her five favourite things

Today on my blog I have fellow Escape Artist Ros Baxter sharing her five favourite things.

Okay so this is tricky because my five favourite things are definitely the one I picked and the four I made with my long-suffering body.  No matter how much the little buggers whinge, vomit, demand and generally be, you know, kid-ish, I still love the living daylights out of those four interesting little souls.

But, I feel like nominating my family is kind of predictable.  Sooo…if it’s okay, I’m going with my next five favourite things.

          Sleep.  My most salacious fantasy involves a dark hotel room, a big bed, noise-cancelling earplugs and twelve hours UNINTERRUPTED sleep. But it’s never going to happen. So the next four are  more, y’know, attainable.

The fantasy:

1

The reality:

[Nope, too awful to show.

           My sister.  My sister is Harlequin author Amy Andrews (Alison to me) and as well as being a VERY COOL author, to me she is a cheerleader, confidante, on-call-medihelp, beta-reader, partner-in-family-whinging and overall top chick. This is my current favourite picture of us (we’d just sold a book we wrote together and we were CELEBRATING).

2

Just seeing my sister walk in the door makes me want to crack open a bottle of wine, which brings me to my third favourite-thing-after-my-family…

1.      Wine.  Actually, I’m not sure I met an alcoholic beverage I don’t like, but let’s stick with wine so I sound like a nice girl.  I like to say that, after a long day running everyone in the whole world to where they need to go, squeezing in three hours of paid work on my blackberry, providing social-skills-advice (“just tell him you can’t change the rules of AFL during the game”), baking three batches of pikelets for three different end-of-term parties, and squeezing in 40 minutes of writing, I COULD do an hour of yoga and have a long hot bath to unwind OR I could have a glass of wine and be human again in 20 minutes.  You do the math.

2.     The problem is, everything else is such a loooonnnng way down after wine.  Oops, no it’s not.  Women friends! Need ‘em, love ‘em, where would I be without ‘em? Whether it’s nit-alert texts, urgent phone calls when sanity is slipping or JUST KNOWING THEY EXIST, it’s all good.  Thanks, good women of my life.  You know who you are.

Here’s some women I prepared earlier (with some wine):

3

1     Dark-circle concealer (see 1.)

       Thanks Ros! I’ll leave you with the cover for Fish out of Water, which features a female sheriff who is also a mermaid, as if her life wasn’t already complicated enough!

Dirtwater’s straight-talking Deputy Sheriff has a lot on her plate: a nicotine addiction that’s a serious liability for a mermaid, a solider-of-fortune ex who’s hooked on her Mom’s brownies, a gorgeous, naked stranger in her shower, and a mysterious dead blonde with a fish tattoo on Main Street.

       Oh, and one other thing.

       She’s scheduled to die on her thirtieth birthday – in three weeks – unless she can ‘change the course of destiny and save the world entire’. Throw in a Mom who’s the local Mayor and a Dad who’s been locked in the county jail for twelve years, and that’s all the trouble she needs without her mermaid roots coming back to haunt her.

      http://www.escapepublishing.com.au/product/9780857990440

You can email Ros at rosbaxterink@gmail.com or find her at www.facebook.com/RosBaxterInk, on twitter @RosBaxter, or www.rosbaxterink.com.

Leave a Reply

